• Welcome to Valhalla Legends Archive.

opening port to receive/send packets

Started by Laff, September 17, 2004, 05:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Laff

first a little history.  i'm a c++ programmer, and i know a lot of vb (although i hate it because it seems weak).  i had a class with a term project and i made one of those junky bots that can only go into public channels via a starcraft login/pw.  i've got another class coming up with a term project and i'd like to get a jumpstart and advance into a warcraftiii/tft bot that can go anywhere it wants.

my questions are about differences in connecting.  right now i've got a socket object that opens port 6112 via the socket object as defined in winsock2.h.  apparently (haven't looked at this code in a year) this object generates a windows message that i can catch and handle.  so when i try a connection and it succeeds i send out a 0x03, 0x04, username, carriage return, linefeed, password, carriage return, linefeed and then if it's successful i'm connected.  what do i have to do to connect as a warcraftiii or tft user?  hell, is this socket object even going to do the job i need to receive and parse these packets?

any help would be appreciated.  any source would be greatly appreciated.  once i get a connection down, i'm sure i can just read through the packet docs and parse them accordingly.  correct me if i'm wrong.  thanks.

MyndFyre

Quote from: The-FooL on September 17, 2004, 08:05 PM
http://bnetdocs.valhallalegends.com/
http://www.valhallalegends.com/yoni/BNLSProtocolSpec.txt

Standard socket should accomplish it.

Giving him links without the purpose of those links does not help.

Why don't you try explaining to him some things?

Laff, I did not understand some of the concepts you'll run into when I first started.  Hopefully this will help you out.