• Welcome to Valhalla Legends Archive.

Chat? Binary? Huh?

Started by Antichrist, August 16, 2004, 09:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Antichrist

Alright, I'm a newbie to bot programming.. actually, I'm pretty much a newbie in THE programming environment. I'd like to ask, when people refeer to "Chat" bot, what's that.. the same goes for "Binary" bot. My theory is a chat bot connects but just logs onto Spawn or w/e and can only be in a public channel, and Binary is multi-client/private channel abled. If I'm anything near the correct definitions, yay! If not, yet again: I'm a newbie. Thanks.

ChR0NiC

Quote from: Antichrist on August 16, 2004, 09:06 PM
Alright, I'm a newbie to bot programming.. actually, I'm pretty much a newbie in THE programming environment. I'd like to ask, when people refeer to "Chat" bot, what's that.. the same goes for "Binary" bot. My theory is a chat bot connects but just logs onto Spawn or w/e and can only be in a public channel, and Binary is multi-client/private channel abled. If I'm anything near the correct definitions, yay! If not, yet again: I'm a newbie. Thanks.

Well you are pretty correct, a Chat connection does not require a cd key and is only allowed in public channels, and it connects differently, binary connections require cdkeys and must go through a much more difficult connection process compared to chat. But if you are here to learn don't forget to check out the Battle.net Reference part of the forum :)

Antichrist

Quote from: ChR0NiC on August 16, 2004, 09:08 PM

Well you are pretty correct,

Awesome.

Quote from: ChR0NiC on August 16, 2004, 09:08 PM
But if you are here to learn don't forget to check out the Battle.net Reference part of the forum :)

Thank you, I wasn't aware there was a Battle.net Reference part of the forum. :-[ :D

ChR0NiC