• Welcome to Valhalla Legends Archive.

Newb Question

Started by dodge, April 19, 2004, 02:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dodge

I'm reading all of this information about packets, I was wondeirng if anyone knew of a good site that was like a tutorial for packets... as you can tell I'm new to this, but I would like to learn.

Tuberload

Quote from: dodge on April 19, 2004, 02:28 PM
I'm reading all of this information about packets, I was wondeirng if anyone knew of a good site that was like a tutorial for packets... as you can tell I'm new to this, but I would like to learn.

All it is binary data. Bytes, Words, Dwords, Strings, etc... Words and Dwords are stored in little-endian format. Bytes are 8-bit integers, Words are 16-bit integers, Dwords are 32 bit-integers. Be careful when using languages that use signed integers, i.e. Java. Lookup that information and you should have what you need.
Quote"Pray not for lighter burdens, but for stronger backs." -- Teddy Roosevelt
"Your forefathers have given you freedom, so good luck, see you around, hope you make it" -- Unknown

dodge

Thanks for the help  :P if anyone can give me a site, I'd still appreicate that heh I'll start looking up information, and I'm programming in VB just fyi.

FuzZ

http://www.google.com < best site on the net for everything you can think of :P

dodge

LOL! Google is awesome, and I found a site, but I'm also looking at RedPhoenix's site he gave me. Looks fun lol. I think once I get money I'm going to buy a book. I was working on this fun program.. but I need to find out how to enter a line in a Rich Text Box... I'm writng somethign to the screen and I need like a return or something... Currently searching google  :P ;D ;)

EDIT:

I have this thing where you have a textbox, and you press send and you add text to the RTB, I have it so you can continuiously add text to it but its on the same line... this is my code

rtbChat.Text = rtbChat.Text + "Client: " & txtSend.Text