• Welcome to Valhalla Legends Archive.

Creating a Channel Crawler Bot

Started by Ecelectic, March 15, 2004, 07:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ecelectic

Im just curious as me and my friends may attempt this but with your current knowledge would it be possible to make a bot that crawls bnets channels somewhat like the googlebot crawls the web?

UserLoser.

Googlebot? Try being more specific

Tazo

huh? u mean channel to channel retrieving user info or just chan 2 chan

Ecelectic

Finding all the channels and indexing them, say putting them onto a website as a list... like bnet does with wc3 users..and keeping them current and updated. Maybe going as far stating how many users are in each channel @ the time it went there.

Googlebot - is google.com's bot that moves from website to website gathering information.

effect

Receiving a complete private channel list is impossible.
Quote from: Mangix on March 22, 2005, 03:03 AM
i am an expert Stealthbot VBScript. Recognize Bitch.

Banana fanna fo fanna

But there are no links to crawl...

MrRaza

Quote from: NuLL on March 15, 2004, 08:25 PM
Receiving a complete private channel list is impossible.

There is another way of going throught a list of channels someone has made.

effect

uh elaborate , receiving a complete server side channel list is AFAIK impossible.
Quote from: Mangix on March 22, 2005, 03:03 AM
i am an expert Stealthbot VBScript. Recognize Bitch.

Lord-Vegito

if ur really desperate theres a really slow and boring way of doing it...

Quote from: Ecelectic on March 15, 2004, 08:20 PMFinding all the channels and indexing them

have ur bot do a /whois command on a bunch of possible channels listed in some dictionary

so...