• Welcome to Valhalla Legends Archive.

Packet 0x33 Information

Started by taylorjonl, December 19, 2003, 05:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

taylorjonl

I am studying the battlenet protocols for Diablo II and started from the beginning.  Basically used Ethereal packet sniffer to only capture packets related to uswest.battle.net.  I started it up and captured the packets that came from choosing a realm to login to and hitting the battlnet button.  I got these results.

SEND: 01
SEND: FF 50
RECV: FF 25
SEND: FF 25
RECV: FF 50
SEND: FF 51
RECV: FF 51

SEND: FF 33
RECV: FF 33

The first set I am familiar with what they are from bnetdocs.valhallalegends.com but the 0x33 packet isn't listed on that page.  Anyone know what they are for?

UserLoser.

0x33: SID_GETFILETIME

Requests the filetime of a file that is downloadable from Battle.net.  If the client's filetime of the file requested doesn't match the server's response, the client should download the file.

taylorjonl

Quote from: UserLoser. on December 19, 2003, 06:52 PM

Requests the filetime of a file that is downloadable from Battle.net.  If the client's filetime of the file requested doesn't match the server's response, the client should download the file.

Thx.  Did you research that or is it somewhere on this site?  Don't like asking questions I the information is already out there.

UserLoser.

Quote from: taylorjonl on December 19, 2003, 06:55 PM
Quote from: UserLoser. on December 19, 2003, 06:52 PM

Thx.  Did you research that or is it somewhere on this site?  Don't like asking questions I the information is already out there.

I researched this my self, although I'm sure it's somewhere on another website

iago

It's fairly obvious if you look at the rest of the packet.  At least, it was to me.

Information can be found on bnetdocs, if that's still alive
http://www.valhallalegends.com/arta/bnetdocs
This'll make an interesting test for broken AV: