• Welcome to Valhalla Legends Archive.

Well...Don't be to hard on me.

Started by Bob, August 10, 2003, 01:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bob

This is going to make me look really newb, but I really don't know anything about programming and I want to learn C++. Not to make bots or whatever, but b/c I want to learn, I want to be good at it. But I have a question I am just starting out and in the Hello world program as I am sure that all of you have seen at least once...

#include <iostream.h>

int main()
{
    cout << "Hello World! " << endl;

return 0;

}
What would be the difference between using int main() or void main()? Would it change the way the program works, Can someone please explain it? Btw, Yes I know I am a newb, but we all have to learn some time.

Eibro

Assuming your compile compiles void main(), no, it wouldn't change how the program works. However, some compilers won't compile void main() because it's non-standard. main() returns and int, that's just how it is. If you see otherwise (books, internet, etc.) just remember that it's wrong.
Eibro of Yeti Lovers.

Bob

K

just as a good habit, you should use #include <iostream> instead of #include <iostream.h>.

if you try using iostream.h on newer compilers you will get a warning that it's depreciated, or it won't even be found.  The difference is that the iostream header defines everything inside the std namespace.  So your code would look like this:

#include <iostream>

using std::cout; // this means you can type cout in your program
                         // instead of std::cout every time you want to use it.
using std::endl; // or simply "using namespace std" to include the entire namespace

int main()
{
   cout << "Hello World! " << endl;

return 0;
}