• Welcome to Valhalla Legends Archive.

Setting Bot Users - Method

Started by Mephisto, March 03, 2004, 07:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mephisto

I'm new to this whole bot development thing, and I have recently finished coding the necessary code to connect to Battle.net and receive/parse chat events.  Now I am moving on to writing the database, and I am wondering how to do this.  How do I represent a user?  I was thinking of just having the bot read from a database file and get the username and their flags.  That brings me to my next question, how should I represent flags?  I was thinking of writing a class for each flag, and in that class write each of the commands as a function.  But then I get to the point of how do I add a flag (class) to that username, and limit access to other flags (classes)?  I havn't put much thought into it, but I will be thinking of ideas as I get feedback from those who can assist in this.

Keep in mind, this is being written in C++.

effect

For someone who knows 10 or so language's Fluently this should be an easy task..
Quote from: Mangix on March 22, 2005, 03:03 AM
i am an expert Stealthbot VBScript. Recognize Bitch.

Mephisto

You guys are fast.

I never said I knew 10 languages, let alone knew them fluently.

Additionally, I said in the post I havn't put much thought into it, I'm already applying some ideas.  This is just to get some feedback on experienced people in doing this, so I don't go implement a system which would be otherwise infurior to other methods which can be used.

Edit: Well, I suppose it's 10 if you count English.  But I still stand by the fact I never said I knew them fluently.

Eric

Go to the C/C++ programming forum.

Mephisto

If this was C/C++ specific, I think someone would have moved it by now.

Additionally, you don't necessarily have to know C++ to help me out with this.

Zakath