Valhalla Legends Archive

Programming => General Programming => Topic started by: R.a.B.B.i.T on November 06, 2004, 10:21 AM

Title: Batch Sockets?
Post by: R.a.B.B.i.T on November 06, 2004, 10:21 AM
I'm just wondering if it's possible to create a socket through batch, because I haven't been able to find anything about them?
Title: Re: Batch Sockets?
Post by: Arta on November 06, 2004, 11:34 AM
Not that I've ever heard of, assuming you're talking about batch files.
Title: Re: Batch Sockets?
Post by: R.a.B.B.i.T on November 06, 2004, 01:04 PM
Yep.  Thanks then.
Title: Re: Batch Sockets?
Post by: The-FooL on November 06, 2004, 09:42 PM
You could create a program that would make a socket, and then run the program via the batch file.
Title: Re: Batch Sockets?
Post by: R.a.B.B.i.T on November 07, 2004, 09:49 AM
That's not what I wanted to do though.  I was wondering if a basic telnet bot would be feasable through batch only.
Title: Re: Batch Sockets?
Post by: Newby on November 07, 2004, 11:17 AM
I haven't really done anything with batch files, but couldn't you telnet <server> 6112 to start a connection?

If that's not what you mean, terribly sorry. I must be confused. :(
Title: Re: Batch Sockets?
Post by: R.a.B.B.i.T on November 07, 2004, 11:39 AM
Yes, but that's just running a batch file that then runs telnet.  I was looking for a way to make a chat client explicitly in batch.
Title: Re: Batch Sockets?
Post by: Skywing on November 07, 2004, 12:10 PM
No, you can't do that without calling external programs.  Why would you want to do such a thing, anyway?
Title: Re: Batch Sockets?
Post by: R.a.B.B.i.T on November 07, 2004, 04:48 PM
Say "look, I made a bot in batch!"
Also, I'd like to just get a good grasp of another language that I can make in notepad.
Title: Re: Batch Sockets?
Post by: Newby on November 07, 2004, 05:18 PM
Quote from: R.a.B.B.i.T on November 07, 2004, 04:48 PM
Say "look, I made a bot in batch!"
Also, I'd like to just get a good grasp of another language that I can make in notepad.
Shellcode!
Title: Re: Batch Sockets?
Post by: Tuberload on November 07, 2004, 05:50 PM
Quote from: R.a.B.B.i.T on November 07, 2004, 04:48 PM
Say "look, I made a bot in batch!"
Also, I'd like to just get a good grasp of another language that I can make in notepad.

You can use any language in notepad. An IDE's sole purpose is to make the process easier on you, it is not required.
Title: Re: Batch Sockets?
Post by: Mephisto on November 07, 2004, 09:17 PM
Quote from: Tuberload on November 07, 2004, 05:50 PM
Quote from: R.a.B.B.i.T on November 07, 2004, 04:48 PM
Say "look, I made a bot in batch!"
Also, I'd like to just get a good grasp of another language that I can make in notepad.

You can use any language in notepad. An IDE's sole purpose is to make the process easier on you, it is not required.

I could never imagine coding projects in notepad though.  :)
Title: Re: Batch Sockets?
Post by: Newby on November 07, 2004, 10:58 PM
Quote from: Mephisto on November 07, 2004, 09:17 PM
Quote from: Tuberload on November 07, 2004, 05:50 PM
Quote from: R.a.B.B.i.T on November 07, 2004, 04:48 PM
Say "look, I made a bot in batch!"
Also, I'd like to just get a good grasp of another language that I can make in notepad.

You can use any language in notepad. An IDE's sole purpose is to make the process easier on you, it is not required.

I could never imagine coding projects in notepad though.  :)
I could never imaging coding C on Linux in an IDE. :)
Title: Re: Batch Sockets?
Post by: Mephisto on November 07, 2004, 11:06 PM
Quote from: Newby on November 07, 2004, 10:58 PM
Quote from: Mephisto on November 07, 2004, 09:17 PM
Quote from: Tuberload on November 07, 2004, 05:50 PM
Quote from: R.a.B.B.i.T on November 07, 2004, 04:48 PM
Say "look, I made a bot in batch!"
Also, I'd like to just get a good grasp of another language that I can make in notepad.

You can use any language in notepad. An IDE's sole purpose is to make the process easier on you, it is not required.

I could never imagine coding projects in notepad though.  :)
I could never imaging coding C on Linux in an IDE. :)

??
Title: Re: Batch Sockets?
Post by: Yoni on November 08, 2004, 07:22 AM
Quote from: Newby on November 07, 2004, 10:58 PM
Quote from: Mephisto on November 07, 2004, 09:17 PM
Quote from: Tuberload on November 07, 2004, 05:50 PM
Quote from: R.a.B.B.i.T on November 07, 2004, 04:48 PM
Say "look, I made a bot in batch!"
Also, I'd like to just get a good grasp of another language that I can make in notepad.

You can use any language in notepad. An IDE's sole purpose is to make the process easier on you, it is not required.

I could never imagine coding projects in notepad though. :)
I could never imaging coding C on Linux in an IDE. :)
IDEs are good. I wouldn't want to use gdb directly to debug.
Title: Re: Batch Sockets?
Post by: Kp on November 08, 2004, 10:52 AM
Quote from: Yoni on November 08, 2004, 07:22 AMIDEs are good. I wouldn't want to use gdb directly to debug.

Wimp. ;)  Direct gdb is easy.
Title: Re: Batch Sockets?
Post by: iago on November 09, 2004, 11:54 AM
I once knew how to use direct gdb, but I forget now :(

To answer the original question -- RaBBiT, look up a program call netcat.  It can be used quite well for batch sockets.
Title: Re: Batch Sockets?
Post by: Banana fanna fo fanna on November 09, 2004, 02:36 PM
I use emacs + print statements for debugging.

If you want a real challenge, code it in Scheme.
Title: Re: Batch Sockets?
Post by: R.a.B.B.i.T on November 10, 2004, 08:45 PM
What I meant by the notepad comment was the ability to code in notpad and immediately run without compiling, etc...

[edit]
Thanks, iago, I'll look into that.