Valhalla Legends Archive

Programming => General Programming => Visual Basic Programming => Topic started by: EviL_MarinE on October 13, 2004, 10:22 AM

Title: Adding a browser to bots
Post by: EviL_MarinE on October 13, 2004, 10:22 AM
Hey, i want to add a Website browser to my bot.
I made a function:


Private Sub mnuUpdates_Click()
frmBrowser.Show


I Start it, press that button and it says "No MDI Form Aviabable to Load"
When the form is there
Any ideas anybody?
Title: Re: Adding a browser to bots
Post by: drivehappy on October 13, 2004, 10:35 AM
Do you have your main form set as a MDI parent - such that all MDI forms will only reside in that form?
Title: Re: Adding a browser to bots
Post by: LivedKrad on October 13, 2004, 01:43 PM
The properties window is your best friend!
Title: Re: Adding a browser to bots
Post by: MichaeL on October 13, 2004, 08:24 PM
You need a webbrowser for updates? Heres a simple way to show some updates

Private Sub Form_load()
Text1.text = Inet1.OpenURL("http://www.updates.com/updates.txt")
End Sub

Make the text box multiline and your set.  That will display whatever text you have in the updates.txt to the Text box, give it a try.  Simple, but effective
Title: Re: Adding a browser to bots
Post by: Newby on October 14, 2004, 01:12 AM
I'm assuming you had it generate the default browser form.

If you are using an MDI-style form layout, it should be fine.

However, from the looks of it, you are using SDI. Tell the frmBrowser that it isn't a child window.
Title: Re: Adding a browser to bots
Post by: Warrior on October 14, 2004, 02:28 AM
VB6 has voice recognition ... hrmm :P
Title: Re: Adding a browser to bots
Post by: EviL_MarinE on October 14, 2004, 10:57 AM
i got it done ages ago, sorry for not saying
Title: Re: Adding a browser to bots
Post by: titan0060 on October 14, 2004, 03:05 PM
doesn't VB6 come with a browser form built in?
Title: Re: Adding a browser to bots
Post by: MeltingWax on October 17, 2004, 12:20 PM
because wouldn't that be a waste when you can use the windows html interpreter?
Title: Re: Adding a browser to bots
Post by: LivedKrad on October 17, 2004, 12:28 PM
Sounds stupid.
Title: Re: Adding a browser to bots
Post by: CrAzY on October 18, 2004, 07:19 PM
Uhm, you relize that there is a Internet Explorer .ocx.  ;)
Title: Re: Adding a browser to bots
Post by: Imperceptus on October 20, 2004, 04:32 PM
I strongly suggest using the Execute method and then a nice state changed procedure.   Runs about 5 times faster from what I have noticed.