Valhalla Legends Archive

Programming => General Programming => Visual Basic Programming => Topic started by: Imperceptus on June 03, 2004, 09:33 AM

Title: Help with :
Post by: Imperceptus on June 03, 2004, 09:33 AM
Is there any speed advantage to using a : in your code instead of writing code on the next line?
Title: Re:Help with :
Post by: Grok on June 03, 2004, 12:03 PM
Quote from: Imperceptus on June 03, 2004, 09:33 AM
Is there any speed advantage to using a : in your code instead of writing code on the next line?

No.
Title: Re:Help with :
Post by: Dyndrilliac on June 03, 2004, 02:01 PM
If your referring to things like:If Blah = True Then: Exit SubThen no. I always felt it was good programming style to do:If Blah = True Then
   Exit Sub
End If


It's my experience that not only is the code easier to read but also more modular. Very annoying when people write their code without ever knowing the tab button exists.
Title: Re:Help with :
Post by: CrAz3D on June 03, 2004, 02:20 PM
Why not
If Blah=true then exit sub
It works too?...
Title: Re:Help with :
Post by: Lobo on June 03, 2004, 02:22 PM
You could use it with select case.  If your only wanting to call one thing.

Select Case this
       Case 1: dosomething
End Select
Title: Re:Help with :
Post by: Stealth on June 03, 2004, 04:29 PM
The compiler will optimize your code when it compiles it either way. Using excessive :'s to break up lines of code will just confuse you -- whitespace is valuable, and in VB, whitespace is cheap -- use it often.
Title: Re:Help with :
Post by: Tuberload on June 03, 2004, 05:04 PM
I am not a VB expert but in Java white space is ignored on compile time. It is essentially allowed so you can format your code in whatever silly way you want so, as Stealth said, your code is easier to understand.

Visual Basic seems to force you to format your code following there standard though (I hate having to use the underscore for multiple line operations).
Title: Re:Help with :
Post by: Adron on June 03, 2004, 06:12 PM
And I like to use : in a few instances.

I use it to assign a value and then exit sub/function on the same line as an if statement. Typically to set an error status, corresponding to a C++ "return X;" which already does both the assignment and the exit.

I use it for patterns, where I find it easier to read the pattern if each instance is a line in a colon-separated table:

Select Case var
  Case 1: msg = "Please do": answer = "OK"
  Case 2: msg = "Will you?": answer = "Yes|No"
  Case 3: msg = "Error!": answer = "Abort|Retry|Ignore"
End Select
Title: Re:Help with :
Post by: Stealth on June 03, 2004, 07:26 PM
Quote from: Tuberload on June 03, 2004, 05:04 PM
Visual Basic seems to force you to format your code following there standard though (I hate having to use the underscore for multiple line operations).

Yes -- between, before and after lines of code whitespace is cheap. The lines themselves must adhere to the IDE's standard. :)
Title: Re:Help with :
Post by: Spht on June 03, 2004, 07:30 PM
Quote from: CrAz3D on June 03, 2004, 02:20 PM
Why not
If Blah=true then exit sub
It works too?...

And why not

If Blah Then Exit Sub

Because it's personal preference!
Title: Re:Help with :
Post by: MyndFyre on June 03, 2004, 07:49 PM
Quote from: Adron on June 03, 2004, 06:12 PM
I use it for patterns, where I find it easier to read the pattern if each instance is a line in a colon-separated table:

Select Case var
  Case 1: msg = "Please do": answer = "OK"
  Case 2: msg = "Will you?": answer = "Yes|No"
  Case 3: msg = "Error!": answer = "Abort|Retry|Ignore"
End Select

Of course, what Adron really meant was:

  Case 3: msg = "Feature!": answer = "Abort|Retry|Ignore"


;)
Title: Re:Help with :
Post by: SPY-3 on August 27, 2004, 08:21 AM
only good thing about using a : is it doesnt have as many lines in your code for things like file opens its prob easier to do this
open Blah for input as #1: input#1, bleh:close #1:text1.text = bleh
then you dont waste as much space.
so only nice thing about : is not wasting lines as much