Yesterday I got an E-mail from Microsoft titled "Important Security Update for the .NET Messenger Service".
It said that if I use .NET Messenger, I should upgrade to their new, Palladium-oriented version.
Of course, not only do I not use the .NET Messenger, I refuse to run any of the holy code of Palladium on a mere mortal computer as mine is. What if it wouldn't be able to handle it?
I deleted the message. Today, I checked my inbox and got 5 more.
(http://yoni.valhallalegends.com/stuff/MSSpam.png)
Umm... My mail is mostly spam already without Microsoft contributing to it. Huh?
Microsoft must be finding it's bugs by the minute now... About time...
Look at the difference the bold makes, it leaves out the "nger s...".
I just got another one. This is starting to get annoying...
Here are the headers, with my ISP server's information removed for brevity.
Return-path: <[email protected]>
Received: from mail pickup service by HDX025.hmdelivery.com with Microsoft
SMTPSVC; Tue, 19 Aug 2003 02:42:00 -0700
Date: Tue, 19 Aug 2003 02:42:00 -0700
From: ".NET Messenger Service Staff" <[email protected]>
Subject: Important Security Update for the .NET Messenger Service
To: (my ISP account's E-mail address)
Message-id: <[email protected]>
MIME-version: 1.0
Content-type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1
Content-transfer-encoding: 7BIT
Content-identifier: 04702BF7-381F-4F2E-83F4-7E9CB983C544
Content-SentTo: (my ISP account's E-mail address)
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 19 Aug 2003 09:42:00.0989 (UTC)
FILETIME=[23B5CCD0:01C36636]Here are the message contents. (The message is plaintext, except for a <pre> tag at the beginning and a </pre> tag at the end.)
Quote
ATTENTION: IMMEDIATE ACTION REQUIRED FOR MSN AND WINDOWS MESSENGER USERS.
You are receiving this e-mail because you are a MSN Messenger or Windows
Messenger Service user.
As part of Microsoft's Trustworthy Computing initiative, Microsoft is
updating the .NET Messenger Service and providing you with an important
MSN Messenger or Windows Messenger security update.
If you are using MSN Messenger 5.0, Windows Messenger 4.7.2000, or MSN
Messenger for Mac 3.5, or any versions higher than these, you do NOT need
this security update. To find out which version you have, select the
'Help' menu in Messenger, then select 'About'. If you are using an older
version, or are not sure, please visit:
http://messenger.msn.com/Help/Upgrades.aspx
for an update.
NOTICE: If you are not using an updated version, you will be unable to
continue using your MSN Messenger or Windows Messenger Service.
Thank you for helping Microsoft further its commitment to helping you
protect your privacy and security online.
You can view the .NET Messenger Statement of Privacy at:
http://messenger.msn.com/Help/Privacy.aspx
and the .NET Messenger Service Terms of Use and Notices at:
http://messenger.msn.com/Help/Terms.aspx.
Lies.
A whois lookup on hmdelivery.com revealed this information:
QuoteOrganization:
register.com
Account Masking
575 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10018
US
Phone: 212-594-9100
Fax..: 212-594-9876
Email: [email protected]
Registrar Name....: Register.com
Registrar Whois...: whois.register.com
Registrar Homepage: http://www.register.com
Domain Name: HMDELIVERY.COM
Created on..............: Tue, Jun 04, 2002
Expires on..............: Fri, Jun 04, 2004
Record last updated on..: Fri, Aug 02, 2002
Administrative Contact:
register.com
Account Masking
575 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10018
US
Phone: 212-594-9100
Fax..: 212-594-9876
Email: [email protected]
Technical Contact:
Register.Com
Account Masking
575 8th Avenue
New York, NY 10018
US
Phone: 212-798-9200
Fax..: 212-629-9305
Email: [email protected]
Zone Contact:
Register.Com
Account Masking
575 8th Avenue
New York, NY 10018
US
Phone: 212-798-9200
Fax..: 212-629-9305
Email: [email protected]
Domain servers in listed order:
PDNS1.REGISTER.COM 216.21.227.17
PDNS2.REGISTER.COM 216.21.225.17
PDNS3.REGISTER.COM 64.124.43.171
PDNS4.REGISTER.COM 213.161.69.22
Register your domain name at http://www.register.com
Just to make sure I wasn't imagining things, I looked up hotmail.com as well.
QuoteRegistrant:
Microsoft Corporation (HOTMAIL-DOM)
One Microsoft Way
Redmond, CA 98052
US
etc...
So this probably wasn't sent from Microsoft anyway. But why would a spammer send patch warnings? Aren't they supposed to send penis enlarging or financial advertisements?
Checked my email today and I got 8 of those messages. I feel special now.
was just surfing the web and found this : (http://slashdot.org/)
http://slashdot.org/articles/03/08/19/1748206.shtml?tid=109&tid=111&tid=126&tid=128&tid=187
i heard once you purchase penis enlargment they stop spamming you with it.
You sure you "heard" that?
NO IM NOT SURE IM JUST A FAG LIKE YOU WITH A SMALL PENIS!
Quote from: Noodlez on August 19, 2003, 08:35 PM
NO IM NOT SURE IM JUST A FAG LIKE YOU WITH A SMALL PENIS!
Just quoting it. He said it, not me. Although I knew it was true all along - the fag part.
Quote from: SNiFFeR on August 19, 2003, 02:46 PM
was just surfing the web and found this : (http://slashdot.org/)
http://slashdot.org/articles/03/08/19/1748206.shtml?tid=109&tid=111&tid=126&tid=128&tid=187
I don't think that's related. There was nothing in my spam messages about any viruses.
This is probably it then:
http://slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=03/08/20/221226&mode=thread&tid=109&tid=185&tid=187
lol, it really was from them? Weird