Valhalla Legends Archive

Programming => General Programming => .NET Platform => Topic started by: iNsaNe on February 23, 2009, 11:40 PM

Title: zlib.net compression and decompression
Post by: iNsaNe on February 23, 2009, 11:40 PM
Hey guys I'm trying to make a replay program, I'm just getting started. I've been able to locate the blocks of data but I don't know how to decompress them. I'm using C# and zlib.net

http://www.componentace.com/zlib_.NET.htm#overview

i really really really will appreciate any help because I haven't been able to find any good documentation
Title: Re: zlib.net compression and decompression
Post by: MyndFyre on February 24, 2009, 12:02 AM
Quote from: iNsaNe on February 23, 2009, 11:40 PM
Hey guys I'm trying to make a replay program, I'm just getting started. I've been able to locate the blocks of data but I don't know how to decompress them. I'm using C# and zlib.net

http://www.componentace.com/zlib_.NET.htm#overview

i really really really will appreciate any help because I haven't been able to find any good documentation
A replay program for....?
Title: Re: zlib.net compression and decompression
Post by: iNsaNe on February 24, 2009, 01:21 AM
haha after reading what i first posted i now realize how extremely vague i was in asking the question.

by replay program i meant warcraft III. i consider this whole forum a Battle.net forum. sorry  :P

I solved it. I've already managed to extract player names out of it.. Ive decided to use SharpZipLib instead of ZLIB, I think it's much easier to use... I figured out how to decompress data in 10 minutes, and haven't been able to figure out ZLIB for days (maybe im stupid)

Title: Re: zlib.net compression and decompression
Post by: MyndFyre on February 24, 2009, 03:39 PM
Not necessarily.  It just depends what you need.  When I was working on my WoW client I was having trouble with some files and it turned out that the problem was with using #ziplib, because it threw an exception at the end of the file, whereas zlib returns what you're reading but signals an error with an error code.  I was able to ignore the error code and it worked correctly.