Im creating a client connection in C++ and im having problems packetlogging. I can see outgoing packets but not incoming from the server. I am using WPEPro as my packet logger. Any ideas why i cannot see incoming? Thanks in advance.
Are you sure that there is any actual incoming data? Are you filtering the stream in your packet logger?
yes i am sure i am getting data because im detecting 0x25 in my parsep and echoing it back and there is no filter on my WPEpro...
Are you using WSA functions? Sometimes WPE has trouble with those, or at least it has for me.
i use recv, not WSARecv is that what you meant? If you would like code, let me know.
Why're you using WPE instead of Ethereal (http://www.ethereal.com/)?
Quote from: Kp on October 17, 2005, 07:59 PM
Why're you using WPE instead of Ethereal (http://www.ethereal.com/)?
Probably because WPE is eaiser to use. :/
Quote from: Shout on October 17, 2005, 10:50 PMQuote from: Kp on October 17, 2005, 07:59 PMWhy're you using WPE instead of Ethereal (http://www.ethereal.com/)?
Probably because WPE is eaiser to use. :/
I disagree. For one thing, WPE doesn't even run. It's not a recognized by the ELF loader as a valid image. Ethereal, on the other hand, works fine. It can even sniff its own display activity, which leads to all sorts of strange and wonderful behavior.
Quote from: Kp on October 18, 2005, 06:44 PM
It's not a recognized by the ELF loader as a valid image.
Try the WINE loader. :P
Quote from: MyndFyre on October 18, 2005, 06:51 PMQuote from: Kp on October 18, 2005, 06:44 PMIt's not a recognized by the ELF loader as a valid image.
Try the WINE loader. :P
Why? WPE still won't be able to sniff the network. That would require CAP_NET_ADMIN permissions, and there's no way I'm giving that to an X program!
Quote from: Kp on October 18, 2005, 06:55 PM
Quote from: MyndFyre on October 18, 2005, 06:51 PMQuote from: Kp on October 18, 2005, 06:44 PMIt's not a recognized by the ELF loader as a valid image.
Try the WINE loader. :P
Why? WPE still won't be able to sniff the network. That would require CAP_NET_ADMIN permissions, and there's no way I'm giving that to an X program!
I may be going out on a limb, but I don't think he is using linux.
Quote from: Shout on October 18, 2005, 07:41 PM
Quote from: Kp on October 18, 2005, 06:55 PM
Quote from: MyndFyre on October 18, 2005, 06:51 PMQuote from: Kp on October 18, 2005, 06:44 PMIt's not a recognized by the ELF loader as a valid image.
Try the WINE loader. :P
Why? WPE still won't be able to sniff the network. That would require CAP_NET_ADMIN permissions, and there's no way I'm giving that to an X program!
I may be going out on a limb, but I don't think he is using linux.
You're not going out on a limb; he is using Windows.
Quote from: Explicit[nK] on October 18, 2005, 07:53 PMQuote from: Shout on October 18, 2005, 07:41 PMQuote from: Kp on October 18, 2005, 06:55 PMQuote from: MyndFyre on October 18, 2005, 06:51 PMQuote from: Kp on October 18, 2005, 06:44 PMIt's not a recognized by the ELF loader as a valid image.
Try the WINE loader. :P
Why? WPE still won't be able to sniff the network. That would require CAP_NET_ADMIN permissions, and there's no way I'm giving that to an X program!
I may be going out on a limb, but I don't think he is using linux.
You're not going out on a limb; he is using Windows.
Which is entirely irrelevant. Ethereal (http://www.ethereal.com/) works fine on Windows
and on Linux. You can run it either place, capture live, or capture to a file and view it later. You can even take the capture on a Linux system and view it from Windows, or vice versa.
I, on the other hand,
am using Linux, which is why WPE seems like such a silly idea. Not only is it platform specific, but it wouldn't work for me and apparently isn't working particularly well for him. :)
Shout and I were both referring to WPE Pro. :P
Quote from: Explicit[nK] on October 18, 2005, 08:35 PMShout and I were both referring to WPE Pro. :P
Why? We've already established that it's an inferior product for its lack of cross-platform support, as well as its lack of support for WSA calls. Next you're going to tell me it can't even write its capture results to a standard format file?
Quote from: Shout on October 17, 2005, 10:50 PM
Quote from: Kp on October 17, 2005, 07:59 PM
Probably because WPE is eaiser to use. :/
Having downloaded ethereal, I agree it is much easier to use, but ill figure out how to use it if this is guaranteed to work.
Thanks again guys.